sans titre-8635 copie.jpg

VPDDLG  STUDIO

Like all the objects we design through our studio "Unqui designers" or our publishing house "VousPouvezDormirDansLaGrange", the backpack is the result of hard work around simplification. Dozens of drawings and prototypes were used to create a unique object. 

Economy of means, playfulness and purity are at the heart of our design approach. We always aim for simplicity, ingenuity, and minimalism in order to set things in motion, whether we are designing products or creating methodological objects.

Founded in 2011, our studio has notably won the prestigious Emile Hermès prize and the Prix Prouvé.

Coralie Frick & Arnaud Le Cat - Unqui Designers

 

the  PROJECT

A designer idea

Observing that we never had a bag to the right size, Coralie and Arnaud, founding members of the studio Unqui designers,  launched the self-edition of the VPDDLG baluchon in 2013.

Thanks to its patented system, the Baluchon unfolds in one move from a small daily carry bag to a weekend companion. So it can can accompany all the activities of a day.

 

“Vous Pouvez Dormir Dans La Grange”* présent a universe of spontaneous departure, lightness and freedom. By going off the beaten track and stereotypes, the brand combines elegance and quality.

 

* " YouCan Sleep In The Barn" in French

BRAND NAME ORIGIN

A tribute to the Hobo

The hobos were American wanderers moving from city to city following the railroad tracks. The name of the brand is the translation of "can sleep in barn". A sentence represented in a single sign by them. Hobos used to engrave such signals on the property fences of houses they stopped by. Thus they could inform their peers of the possibility of finding shelter, work or food.

“Vous Pouvez Dormir Dans La Grange is an ode to freedom and movement”

UP-CYCLING HIGH QUALITY FABRIC...

At the beginning of the adventure, in 2013, Coralie and Arnaud were up-cycling scrap fabric pieces of French luxury fashion houses to make their Baluchon. The limited amount of fabric made each bag almost unique.

 

To innovate in the making of the perfect product, they started working with French manufacturer since the beginning. Thanks to the proximity they had with their manufacturers and the feedback from customers, they could improve their products more easily.

 

After 5 years of adventures and experiences, they have found the perfect fabric for there collection: lightweight, waterproof and stylish!

... TO THE PEFECT FABRIC AND PERMANENT COLORS

Today, Coralie and Arnaud have reached a new milestone for the brand by launching a permanent collection with followed colors. To start, a timeless color: the Charcoal Black, as well as two new hues inspired by nature: Poppy Red and Cypress Green.

 

This first "big" production was successfully financed via an Ulule campaign, launched in July.

 

And soon: other colors, other essentials and the possibility of finding the full VPDDLG collection in shops!

A COLLECTION OF ESSENTIALS

Once again guided by a mindset of adaptability, we designed our cases so they can accommodate their volume to their content.

 

The last innovation, a key ring (in two sizes) combines, like all VPDDLG objects, elegance, and functionality.

 

Our two creators have a lot of accessories in mind to simplify your life! A toiletry bag, a backpack and more ... are coming.

FRENCH MANUFACTURING

Quality & Know-How

At VPDDLG, we put time and efforts in crafting high end products. We pay particular attention to the quality and assembling of  materials.

 

That's why all our models are fully assembled in France, by a workshop we value for its expertise and know-how. Being close to our production center allows us to closely follow the crafting and the quality of each of our products.

 

We are proud to manufacture in France, it allows us to offer quality products, simple but essential, made for following you as long as possible!

 

the LEATHER

We only select high-end raw materials, our leather is a French cow leather "Full-Grain" with a vegetable tanning.

 

Once the best skins are selected, they are exclusively tanned with trunk and bark trees natural substances. The result is an extremely natural product whose production is subject to the recycling of wastewater and therefore totally clean for the environment.

 

Only vegetable tanning allows the leather to retain all its strength and therefore its resistance over time. This leather, soft to the touch, reveals all its authenticity and patina over time and use.

French vegetable tanned

BALUCHON, KIT & KEY RING:  Swiss and exceptional

the FABRIC

This high-quality fabric comes from one of the best manufacturers in the field: SCHOELLER®, based in Switzerland. Thanks to their innovative and sustainable technologies inspired by nature (ecorepel® Bio), this fabric is waterproof, breathable, windproof and stretch.

 

The slightly honeycombed cotton finish brings a touch of elegance and makes it suitable for all styles. And as every detail counts, its perfect thickness allows it to be held while remaining as light as possible.

 

It is certified Oeko-Tex® (quality assurance) and Bluesign® (sustainable textile, without harmful substances and respectful of the environment).

BACKPACK: Italian and resistant

Beautiful, sturdy and long lasting, we chose the ideal material, an Italian cotton. The density of its weft makes it very resistant and water-repellent (4% PU) and keeps your stuff dry.

sans titre-8635 copie.jpg

le STUDIO VPDDLG

Tous les objets que nous dessinons au travers de notre studio “Unqui designers” ou pour notre propre maison d’édition “VousPouvezDormirDansLaGrange”, est le fruit d’un travail acharné autour de la simplification. Ce sont des dizaines de dessins et de prototypes qui permettent de mettre au point un objet unique. 

 

L’économie de moyens, le jeu et l’épure sont au centre de notre démarche de design. Que ce soit quand nous dessinons des produits et installations ou quand nous créons des objets méthodologiques. Nous visons à chaque fois la simplicité,  l’ingéniosité, le minimalisme pour provoquer la mise en mouvement. 

 

Fondé en 2011, le studio a notamment remporté le prestigieux prix Emile Hermès et le Prix Prouvé.

Coralie Frick et Arnaud Le Cat - Unqui Designers

 

Le PROJET

Une idée de designers

Partant du constat que nous n'avions jamais un sac à la bonne taille, Coralie et Arnaud, membres fondateurs du studio Unqui designers, se sont lançés dans l'auto-édition du baluchon VPDDLG en 2013.

 

Grâce à son système breveté, le baluchon se déploie pour passer en un geste d’un petit sac de ville à un sac de week-end. Ainsi il peut accompagner toutes les activités d’une journée.

«Vous Pouvez Dormir Dans La Grange », s’inscrit dans l’univers du départ spontané, de la légèreté et de la liberté. En sortant des sentiers battus et des stéréotypes, la marque allie élégance et qualité.

UN NOM À COUCHER DEHORS

Sur la trace des HOBOS

Le nom de la marque est la traduction de « can sleep in barn ». Une phrase représentée en un signe, que les hobos, vagabonds américains se déplaçant de ville en ville en suivant les voies de chemin de fer, se laissaient aux portes des maisons.
Ils informaient ainsi leurs semblables de la possibilité d'y trouver un gîte, du travail ou encore de la nourriture.

" Vous Pouvez Dormir Dans La Grange est un hymne à la liberté et au mouvement "

Des fin de rouleaux...

Au commencement de l’aventure, en 2013, Coralie et Arnaud chinaient des fins de rouleaux de maisons de haute couture françaises pour fabriquer leurs baluchons. La quantité limitée du tissu rendait chaque baluchon presque unique. 

le choix du made in France c’est fait logiquement car pour eux il est au service de l’innovation. L’échelle est réduite et grâce à la proximité qu’ils ont avec leurs fabricants et aux retours des clients, ils peuvent améliorer leur produits plus facilement.

C'est pourquoi après 5 ans d'aventures et d'expériences, ils ont cherché ET trouvé le tissu parfait pour le baluchon : léger, imperméable et élégant !

... au tissu parfait et aux couleurs suivies

Aujourd’hui, Coralie et Arnaud ont franchi une nouvelle étape pour la marque en lançant une collection permanente avec des couleurs suivies. Pour commencer, une couleur intemporelle : le Noir Charbon, ainsi que deux teintes inédites, inspirées de la nature : le Rouge Coquelicot et le Vert Cyprès.

Cette première "grande" production a été financé avec succès via une campagne Ulule, lancée au mois de juillet 2018

Et bientôt : le lancement du  sac à dos en pré-commande !

UNE COLLECTION D'ESSENTIELS

Toujours dans cette idée d'objets intelligents la trousse a été développée sur le même système du baluchon : elle s'adapte à son contenu. Depuis peu des porte-clés (deux tailles) ont vu le jour. Ils allient, comme le reste de la gamme, élégance et  praticité.

Nos deux créateurs fourmillent d'idées pour vous simplifier la vie : une trousse de toilette, un sac à dos et plus encore... sont à venir !

FABRICATION
FRANÇAISE

Qualité & Savoir-Faire

Nous portons une importance toute particulière à la qualité des matières et à leur assemblage.

C'est pourquoi nos produits sont entièrement fabriqués en France (Pays de Loire pour le Sac à Dos et Bretagne pour le reste de la collection), par des usines qui nous ont séduites par leur savoir-faire et leur exigence. Cette proximité nous permet de suivre de près la conception et la qualité de chaque produit.

​Nous sommes fiers de fabriquer en France, cela nous permet de vous proposer des produits de qualité, simples mais essentiels, faits pour vous accompagner le plus longtemps possible !

 

le CUIR

Nous utilisons un cuir français de vache "pleine fleur" au tannage végétal.

 

une fois les meilleures peaux sélectionnées, elles sont tannées en recourant exclusivement à des substances naturelles provenant des troncs et d'écorce d’arbres. Le résultat est un produit extrêmement naturel et dont la production est soumise au recyclage des eaux usées et de ce fait totalement propre pour l’environnement.

Seul le tannage végétal permet au cuir de conserver toute sa force et donc sa résistance dans le temps.

Ce cuir, doux au toucher, va au fur et à mesure se patiner et dévoiler toute son authenticité. 

Français à tannage végétal

Baluchon, trousse et porte-clés : Suisse et d'exception

le TISSU

Ce tissu de haute qualité vient de l'un des meilleurs fabricants en la matière : SCHOELLER®, basé en Suisse. Grâce à leurs technologies innovantes et durables s'inspirant de la nature (ecorepel® Bio), ce tissu est imperméable, respirant, coupe-vent et stretch.


La finition légèrement alvéolée du coton apporte une touche d'élégance et permet de s'accorder à tous les styles. Et comme chaque détail compte, son épaisseur parfaite lui permet d'avoir de la tenue tout en restant le plus léger possible.

Il est labellisé Oeko-Tex® (assurance qualité) et Bluesign® (textile durable, sans substances nocives et respectueux de l’environnement).

Sac à dos : Italien et résistant

Beau, robuste et qui se tient, nous avons choisi le coton idéal, un coton italien. La densité de son tramage le rend très résistant et déperlant (4% de PU) et permet de garder vos affaires au sec.